Anile-ECMI Prize for Mathematics in Industry

The Anile-ECMI Prize for Mathematics in Industry was established honouring Professor Angelo Marcello Anile (1948-2007) of Catania, Italy.
It consists of a prize of 2500 Euros and an invitation to give a talk at the ECMI 2018 conference.

The prize is given to a young researcher for an excellent PhD thesis in industrial mathematics successfully submitted at a European university in 2016-2018.

To apply for the prize, a copy of the PhD thesis (written in English), together with a letter supporting the application, should be sent as PDF-File to the address  to arrive by 15 April, 2018. Also, a scanned  document (e.g. for the PhD diploma) is necessary to verify that the thesis was sumitted succcessfully.

Hansjörg Wacker Memorial Prize

The Hansjörg Wacker Memorial Prize was established in memory of ECMI founding member Hansjörg Wacker (1939-1991), who was Professor of Numerical Mathematics at the Johannes Kepler University, Linz. The prize is jointly funded by ECMI and by a consortium of institutions from Linz which comprise the Industrial Mathematics Institute and the Institute of Computational Mathematics of Johannes Kepler University, and the Johann Radon Institute for Computational and Applied Mathematics of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. It consists of a prize of 1000 Euros and the invitation to attend the ECMI 2018 conference presenting his/her project as a contributed talk.

The prize is awarded for the best mathematical dissertation at the Masters level on an industrial project, which was submitted in 2016-2018 at an ECMI institution.

To apply for the prize, a copy of the Masters thesis should be sent as PDF-File to the address to arrive by 15 April, 2018. The entry should be accompanied by a letter from the MSc supervisor which summarises the mathematical and industrial relevance of the work, and with details of the cooperation with the industry. If the language of the thesis is not English, then it is necessary to send also an extended summary in English.

Both prizes will be given in the Award Ceremony of ECMI 2018 on Monday 18th June after the opening of the conference.